Begin Again

I once heard the worst thing a man can do is draw a hungry crowd
Tell everyone his name, pride, and confidence
But leaving out his doubts
I’m not sure I bought those words
When I was young I knew most everything
These words have never meant as much to anyone
As they now mean to me…

– The Avett Brothers, “The Weight of Lies

Blurred Lines Video Girl

Welcome to Butt Sweat and Cheers – a blog started (with every good intention, I promise) to document a return to distance running and myself. The name itself is a play on the 1970’s rock band Blood, Sweat & Tears – refresh your memory on their greatest hits here. The name has less to do with my affection for the band, and more with my affection for word play. After a few years of successes and failures, and the deletion of Tongue in Chic, it felt like the right time to start documenting the journey again. Why now? Because I just registered for my third Chicago Marathon. The last time I ran Chicago was in 2010 – for various reasons, I never expected to run it again. But, here I am, grateful for the opportunity to run my hometown race at least one more time. In the years since I last registered, it has moved from open registration (that regularly sold out within a day or two) to a lottery system. Fortunately, my finishing time from my 2013 Wisconsin Marathon effort [barely] qualified me for guaranteed entry. I took this as a sign to get back on the horse and rediscover everything I loved about goal setting, goal seeking, and the numerous Chipotle burritos that fall in-between those cracks.

So, much like the proverbial and trite phoenix from the ashes, this blog seeks to document my training, with scattered appearances from “Hillary’s social life,” “Hillary’s cat,” and “Hillary’s attempt to decorate an apartment like an adult.” I hope you like sarcasm and clever observations — I sure do.

Don’t call it a comeback. I been here for years.

Leave a Reply

