Base Training: Week 2

 Nope!Flowers for Algernon Last week was frustrating. I got a great run in on Monday, wherein I flew on cloud-covered shoes and slid down rainbows holding a salad and smiling. 3+ miles of cheese. It was heaven. Tuesday and Wednesday were work tar pits, which led into “all the sick.” I’ve been nursing a gross cold for about a week now (and did myself no favors this past weekend), so the running just didn’t happen.

I mean, I can break it down for you by day, but that’s pretty pointless. All days will involve “zero miles” and a few lines of excuses. The weather is starting to warm up, and my snot-level is starting to wane, so I’m hopeful that I can get back on track with some basic miles this week. They say it takes 21 days to form a habit, which is approximately the amount of days I’ve spent glued to my DVR rather than hitting the pavement. That’s gotta change. I’m not running another disappointing, under-trained Chicago marathon.

The quote above is from Flowers for Algernon. If you haven’t read it, and you have no shame reading a fairly short novel that most people read in middle school, I highly recommend it. I pull it off of the shelf every so often and weep a little bit in the comfort of my home.

What I really need is some incentive, so I’ve been perusing Running Warehouse for cheap, new running clothes, & trying to figure out the timing of a quickie 5k: something to shake the cobwebs off and scare myself into actually running.

In fact, I just registered for Fleet Feet’s “The Original 5k,” whose main drawing point was the fact that it was $19.72 to register, and the start line is 3 blocks from my house. It’s in early June, so I’m also eyeing a 5k at the end of April, but it may be a little early to consider that…

Leave a Reply

